Poetry Fellowship

Poetry Fellowship

Applications invited for The Vijay Nambisan Poetry Fellowship 2024

The poetry fellowship which is in its sixth year is open for applications from 1st April to 30th April 2024. Details about the Fellowship are given below.

The Poetry Fellowship is awarded every year to an established poet or a new, promising talent from India. The selected fellow is offered a two-week writing retreat at Sangam House in Bangalore.( www.sangamhouse.org). It includes board and lodge but not the travel expenses. We invite poets to apply by sending a one-page  statement of purpose, including details of the project they wish to work on, a bio-data including list of publications, and three to four poems to Kavery Nambisan at kavery.nambisan@gmail.com before 30th April every year. Each year we accept applications from poets writing in English and one other Indian language. 

For 2024, applications are invited in English and Marathi. A panel of judges will make the selection and the results will be announced by 15th of July annually. The selected poet is expected to take up the fellowship between between November and January.

We are pleased to announce that the Vijay Nambisan Poetry Fellowship for the year 2023 has been awarded to Kannada poet, Shobha Nayak. 

This year the fellowship was open for those writing in English and in Kannada. The response was very good, with 31 poets sending in their sample poetry. It was encouraging to see the high standards that poets set for themselves and the variety — in both languages. The Trust will continue to offer this Fellowship every year, and will eventually cover other Indian languages, along with English.

Shobha Nayak
A resident of Belagavi, Karnataka, India was bestowed with ‘Sankramana Kavya Puraskar’ for authoring ‘Mouna Charite’. An award ‘Yuva Barahahara Puraskara’ instituted by Karnataka Government Basavaraj Kattimani Trust for young litterateurs was presented. ‘Gavisidhha N Ballari, a state level poetry award was presented for the manuscript ‘Shayyagruhada Suddigalu’ in 2020. Karanta Sahitya Ratna Pustaka Bahumana, G S Shivarudrappa Kavya Bahumana and many more awards received for ‘Shayyagruhada Suddigalu’ a poetry book. Government of Punjab invited all Indian language poets and was one among them to recite a poem in Sarv Bharati Kavi Darbar held at Gurudaspur, Punjab 2019. Invited for South Indian poetry carnival 20/20 at Pattambi, Kerala. Invited  for PAMPA literature festival 2021 and also invited for SANGAM 2022- Confluence of world poets.

We are happy to announce that Ms Sohini Basak has been awarded the Vijay Nambisan Fellowship for the year 2022.

Sohini Basak was born in Calcutta, raised in Barrackpore and educated at the universities of Delhi, Warwick and East Anglia. She lives in Delhi and works as an editor. Her poems have most recently appeared in The Penguin Book of Indian Poets edited by Jeet Thayil.

The previous winners are:
Sneha Subramanian Kanta in 2019
Avinab Dutta in 2020
Akhil Katyal in 2021.
More Details